Skip to content

READ – found these today

April 5, 2009
tags:

aug08-052r

Not sure if anyone remembers this book, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, but it was my favorite as a boy. It’s pretty simple: After a pancake lands on his grandson’s head, a old man (on cover) tells a story about the town of Chewandswallow – a small town where it rains all the food the townsfolk need. There are good days – mashed potatoes, juice rain most mornings – and there are bad days – gorgonzola cheese and overcooked broccoli. Streets are flooded with noodles and baseball games are stopped on account of pie. Even though the kids don’t believe their grandfather’s tale, on the last pageย the boy is sure the hill of snow outside, with the sun setting, looks like a pile of mashed potatoes and butter.

aug08-0581

By the way, I have shirt with that same heroic lion – watch out.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 11:49 PM

    I’ll have to check out that classic- I’m sure I read it back in the day. Hey, I have a palm desert class Monday nights. Maybe we can figure something out poetry wise.

  2. Amy permalink
    April 18, 2009 12:54 PM

    great pic of you!

  3. Lyric permalink
    April 26, 2009 6:56 PM

    you remind me of Kermit in these pics ๐Ÿ™‚ makes me smile ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Krystal permalink
    May 9, 2009 12:24 PM

    I saw that they are making this into a movie.

    • eyepatchplease permalink*
      May 10, 2009 11:49 AM

      Yeah, and I hate to be a purist, but the it’s nothing like the book. The only thing the movie kept, watching the trailer, was food from the sky.

      Also, how did you find my blog? Do I know you?

Leave a Reply

