Skip to content

New poem: “This Wall”

November 27, 2011
tags:

I wrote this this morning. Any input or advice is appreciated.

This Wall

Facing the same direction
this wall

this wall
immune to use
this wall
waiting for the right words
to crumble to
the same words you used
to crumble to
in those sweet sweet days
when I could sing you
to sleep against the wall
when I could keep you
to your promises
when I could expect you
and when I could expect you
to think I wasn’t crazy
and when I could expect you
to think at all
to think beyond
the wall
even as I pushed you
against it
and you pulled me
into you
and beyond the wall that took
nothing we gave and gave
and gave
no one else a reason
other than love–

when you loved
someone as crazy as me
and I loved you

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 12:36 PM

    Really diggin the word-play.

  2. jenz611 permalink
    November 27, 2011 11:16 PM

    poemgasm….I’ll come back with suggestions if I can even think of any. Love this one Sean.

  3. November 28, 2011 1:06 AM

    I like it. If I could offer a criticism..? I would say that the structure is working against the rhythm. But that’s just my two cents and inflation happens err’day.

  4. Sirius permalink
    December 25, 2011 7:44 PM

    Great poem! Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

